Maine Library Association

Katahdin Award History

Begun in 1999, this lifetime achievement award recognizes an outstanding body of work of children’s literature in Maine. The Katahdin Award is designed to honor a living Maine author or illustrator. An author or illustrator is considered a resident if he or she was born in this state or currently resides in Maine for all or part of the year. The award may be given annually, but may not necessarily be given each year.

Katahdin Award Winners

2017 Sharon Creech

2016 Melissa Sweet

2015 Cathryn Falwell

2014   Chris Van Dusen 

2013   Anne Sibley O'Brien

2012  Award not presented

2011  Phillip Hoose

2010  Kathryn Lasky

2009   Gail Gibbons

2008  Peter Parnall

2007   Ethel Pochocki

2006   Bruce McMillan

2005   Nancy Garden

2004   Lois Lowry

2003   Cynthia Voight

2002   Ashley Bryan

2001  Dalov Ipcar

2000   Roy Gallant

1999   Robert McCloskey

Maine Library Association

93 Saco Avenue

Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064

© 2019 Maine Library Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software