AssociationMaine LibraryAssociationMaine LibraryAssociationAssociationMaine LibraryassociationAssociation  Maine Library

MLA Awards

For current-year nomination forms, please visit MLA Award Information.

Journalism Award

The Library Journalism Award recognizes the most outstanding print or broadcast story about libraries in Maine within the last year and honors its Maine writer or producer. Previous recipients are listed below.

 Award Year  Recipient's Name  News Outlet and Story/Program Name
 2017 Jennifer Rooks Maine Public's "Maine Calling"
 2016 NO AWARD 
 2015  Nissa Flanagan Portland Press Herald, "Maine Voices: Cuts to revenue sharing would hurt libraries in towns already struggling"
 2014 Ray Routhier Portland Press Herald, "Maine libraries write new chapter on lending"
 2013  Russ Van Arsdale  Bangor Daily News, "Free legal help now just a library away" "Technology boosts access to the law at public libraries"

Outstanding Librarian of the Year

The Outstanding Librarian of the Year Award was created in 1993 to highlight professional  achievement and service to the Maine Library Community.  The first recipient was Glenna Nowell, Director of the Gardiner Public Library who during her term as MLA President took on the fight against the rising tide to censor resources and materials in our state. Her efforts along with others led to the defeat of the "Obscenity Referendum" and garnered her not only the Outstanding Librarian of the Year Award but also a Hugh Heffner Award for championing Free Speech.  Many deserving recipients have followed in Glenna's footsteps as recipients of the Outstanding Librarian of the Year, recognized and applauded for their service to the cause of libraries in our state.  They are listed below.

 Award Year  Recipient's Name  Recipient's Library
 2017 Rich Boulet Director, Blue Hill Public Library
 2017 Joyce Rumery Dean of Libraries, University of Maine at Orono
 2016  Ruth Eveland Director, Jesup Memorial Library, Bar Harbor
 2015 Anne Davis Director, Gardiner Public Library, Gardiner
 2014 Jen Alvino Director, Windham Public Library, Windham
 2013  Deanna Gouzie  Children's Services, MacArthur Public Library, Biddeford
 2012  Jay Scherma  Director, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth
 2011  Yvonne Gloede  Director, Jackson Memorial Library, Tenant's Harbor
 2010  NO AWARD  
 2009  Rick Speer  Director, Lewiston Public Library
 2008  NO AWARD  
 2007  Barbara Keef  Reference/Technology Librarian, Windham Public Library
 2006  Shirley Helfrich  Southern Maine Library District Consultant, Maine State Library
 2005  Linda Packard  Director, Guilford Public Library
 2004  J Gary Nichols  State Librarian, Maine State Library
 2003  Valerie Osborne  Director, Old Town Public Library
 2002  Barbara McDade  Director, Bangor Public Library
 2001  Elaine Albright  Dean of Libraries, University of Maine, Orono
 2000  Steve Podgjany  Director, Curtis Memorial Library, Brunswick
 1999  Marilyn Clark  Director, Emily & Mark Turner Memorial Library, Presque Isle
 1998  Karl Beiser  Technowizard, Maine State Library
 1997  Mary Peverada  Children's Services, Portland Public Library
 1996  Benita Davis  Northern Maine Library District Consultant, Maine State Library
 1995  Reta Schreiber  Assistant Director, Bangor Public Library
 1994  Marcia Dwvorak/Bob Woodard  Director, Thorndike Library, College of the Atlantic/Bangor Public Library
 1993  Glenna Nowell  Director, Gardiner Public Library
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software